Thursday, May 21, 2009

Ivor Novello Award Winners 2009

Below is the list of winners from the 2009 Ivor Novello Awards. Elbow picked up two awards, with Duffy, Ting Tings and Coldplay all scooping an award at the 54th Ivor Novello Awards for songwriting. The Event was hosted at the Grosvenor House Hotel in central London on 21 May.

Best song musically and lyrically
One Day Like This - Elbow

Best contemporary song
Grounds for Divorce - Elbow

Best television soundtrack
Wallace and Gromit A Matter of Loaf and Death

Best original film score
There Will Be Blood

PRS most performed work
Mercy - Duffy

Best-selling British song
Viva La Vida - Coldplay

Album award
We Started Nothing - The Ting Tings

Ivors Inspiration award
Edwyn Collins

Ivors classical music award
James MacMillan

Outstanding song collection
Vince Clarke

PRS outstanding contribution to British music
Robert del Naja and Grant Marshall (Massive Attack)

Songwriter of the year
Eg White

Special international award
Smokey Robinson

The Academy Fellowship
Don Black

*EXTRA BLOG - more from the world of robmacca

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for posting, but what a shit load of winners - I mean Elbow for Best Song - WTF?
    Nice to see Vince get some recognition, he's been churning out gems for eons.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...