Thursday, September 16, 2010

Bravo TV Axed

After years of broadcasting in various rebrandings, Bravo is set to disappear from UK screens forever as BSkyB axe the TV channel. The satellite broadcaster has decided to pull the plug on the station as it spends money on it's Living channel instead.

Bravo was always a favourite with male viewers since 1985, showing wrestling and cult classics like Twin Peaks. But Sky felt that the channel was too similar to it's own Sky1 - so has decided to pull the plug.

Bye Bye Bravo!
*EXTRA BLOG - more from the world of robmacca

Monday, September 13, 2010

MTV: Video Music Awards - The Winners 2010

Lady GaGa seemed to win just about every award at the 2010 MTV Video Music Awards in Los Angeles, apart from Best Male Video - but even that was debatable! Here are the winners from this years Award show:

Collaboration: Lady Gaga featuring Beyonce - "Telephone"

Female Video: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

Male Video: Eminem - "Not Afraid"

Hip-Hop Video: Eminem - "Not Afraid"

New Artist: Justin Bieber featuring Ludacris - "Baby"

Pop Video: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

Rock Video: 30 Seconds to Mars - "Kings and Queens"

Dance Music Video: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

Art Direction: Florence and the Machine - "Dog Days Are Over"

Choreography: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

Cinematography: Jay Z and Alicia Keys - "Empire State of Mind"

Direction: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

Editing: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

Special Effects: Muse - "Uprising"

Breakthrough Video: The Black Keys - "Tighten Up"

Video of the Year: Lady Gaga - "Bad Romance"

*EXTRA BLOG - more from the world of robmacca

Tuesday, September 07, 2010

Mercury Prize Winner 2010: xx

The winner of the 2010 Mercury Prize was announced as London's trio xx, who beat the other eleven hopefuls in scooping the prestigious Award. Mumford & Sons, Paul Weller and Corrine Bailey Rae were in the shortlist for this years Mercury Award but it was xx who won the judges vote. The band now join the hall of fame with previous winners such as Dizzee Rascal (2003), Arctic Monkeys (2006)and Suede (1993).

The band had expected to be runner up to Paul Weller and front man Oliver Sim was stunned by winning the award, saying: "I don't know what we were expecting but we weren't expecting this."

*Photo: PA
*EXTRA BLOG - more from the world of robmacca
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...