Monday, June 16, 2008

Mojo Awards: Winners List 2008

Duffy arriving at Mojo Awards

The Mojo Awards 2008 took place in London and here are the list of winners:

It was the first major award for Welsh sensation Duffy, who won 'Song of the Year' with 'Mercy'. Duffy's debut album looks set to sell over 1 million and is seen as an alternative version of Amy Winehouse. She is being hailed as the new Dusty Springfield and the biggest act to come out of Wales in a long time.
The Last Shadow Puppets picked up 'Best Breakthrough Act' with Arctic Monkeys front man Alex Turner at the helm, it was to be expected the LSP would get an award.

The Mojo Awards Full Winners List 2008:

Song of the Year Award: Mercy by Duffy

Best Breakthrough Act: The Last Shadow Puppets

Best Album Award: Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Hero Award: Motorhead

Icon Award: the Sex Pistols

Best Live Act Award: Led Zeppelin

Classic Songwriter Award: Neil Diamond

Hall of Fame: The Specials

Lifetime Achievement Award: Genesis

Special Award: Judy Collins

Legend Award: Irma Thomas

Classic Album Award: Loveless by My Bloody Valentine

Inspiration Award: John Fogerty

Outstanding Contribution to Music Award: Paul Weller

Roots Award: Toots Hibbert

Les Paul Award: John Martyn

Maverick Award: Mark E Smith

Vision Award: Julien Temple for The Future is Unwritten

Compilation of the Year Award: Juno Original Soundtrack

Catalogue Release of the Year: Pillows & Prayers Cherry Red Records 1981-1984
*Read more on The Specials Mojo Award: HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...